Lassonde Co-op/Internship

Close mobile menu

Students of the Year Award

If you’re a Lassonde co-op/internship student, then apply now! Each year, two recipients will be selected based on their achievements. The two winners will receive a certificate and $500 cash prize.

Students of the Year 2021

Adrian Fagarasanu

3rd year Computer Science student who completed a 4-month Summer 2021 co-op at European Space Agency in the role of Data Systems Intern.

“Over the four months I was employed at ESA, I had the pleasure of experiencing a profound growth in my professional understanding of the software engineering world through the inspired space industry lens.”

– Adrian Fagarasanu

“Adrian Fagarasanu showed great motivation to solve the challenges presented when dealing with the given topic and worked highly independently. His knowledge and competencies in computer science prepared him well for the tasks.”

– Nicole Neis

Mission Data Systems Engineer – Applications & Robotics Data Systems Section

Thalia Godbout

3rd year Computer Science student completed a 12-month internship with the Ontario Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services (Children, Youth and Social Services I&IT Cluster) in the role of Accessibility Technology Analyst Intern.

“By the end of my {internship}, I developed a passion for this field and realized how much I love working with people and exploring how we interact with technology.”

– Thalia Godbout

“Thalia was an exceptional co-op student, and will certainly be an asset to any team she joins in her future.”

– Erika Hartog

Senior Accessibility Technology Analyst

What You Win

The two winning students receive a certificate and a $500 cash reward from the Lassonde Co-op Program to recognize their achievements. All nominated students can request a letter/certificate of recognition for their nomination after the award recipients have been announced.

Our Selection Criteria

The Lassonde Co-op & Internship team will review applications and present the top applicants to the Co-op & Internship Faculty Advisory Committee for a final vote and selection of the two award winners.  The selection criteria for this award includes:

Student Personal Statement on how you went above and beyond in your co-op/internship work term(s), including your impact on the employer, self and institution

Supervisor’s Statement

Satisfactory completion of the Co-op/Internship courses

The decision of the selection committee is final and may not be appealed.

Forms & Guidelines

Lassonde Co-op/Internship would like to recognize the contributions of Nascent Digital to the Lassonde Student of the Year Award. We would like to thank them for their acknowledgement of the success of our two students through their annual $1000 donation since 2018. 

“From the moment that Ignacio Isola joined our team, he has been an invaluable employee, participating and contributing to our work at a level that is years ahead of what would be expected from an undergraduate student. Over the past 5 years, I have worked with dozens of interns at Canadensys Aerospace. Several of these have been exceptional, but I would rank Ignacio at the top of even this elite group.”
Luke Stras
Electrical Team Lead
Canadensys Aerospace

“Decisivedge has opened the doors for Julia Paglia whether as an intern next summer or a regular employee after graduation for we know she will be an asset to our company or any company she will join.”
Michael Pongan
Lead Software Engineer

“I found Aryeh Weinberger to be an exceptionally talented engineering student in all areas, and a pleasure to work with. In my opinion, after mentoring many co-op students from across the province, … I believe that Aryeh would be an ideal candidate for this co-op student award.”
Jason Young, B.E.Sc., M.A.Sc., P.Eng.
Founder & President,
Advantage Forensics Inc.

Antonia Pennella has made major contributions to the establishment of my research group and laboratory. I have been thoroughly impressed by Antonia’s interest in research & I firmly believe that she has a bright future in both research and engineering.”
Garett Melenka, PhD
Assistant Professor,
Mechanical Engineering Department,
York University

Brandon Loy, Electrical Engineering and Sonia Kodgule, Mechanical Engineering
Basil Mahmood Electrical Engineering
Can Unlusoy Mechanical Engineering
Chirag Sardana Computer Engineering
Dan Colvin Mechanical Engineering
Joshua Abraham Computer Engineering
Moamenbellah Moustafa Civil Engineering
Mohammad Syed Electrical Engineering
Ziad Ahmed Mechanical Engineering

Hunter Schofield, Space Engineering and Maheen Saini, Civil Engineering
Pictured with Shawn Konopinsky, Partner and CEO of Nascent Digital