Department Chairs



Professor Jit Sharma

Chair, Department of Civil Engineering

Professor Jit Sharma is the inaugural Chair of Civil Engineering. He arrives at Lassonde School of Engineering with a wealth of engineering experience from around the world, having held academic appointments in India, Singapore, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

From 2001 till his appointment as Chair of Civil Engineering, Jit was a Professor of Geotechnical Engineering at University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Canada, where he taught soil mechanics, foundation engineering and geotechnical modelling at undergraduate and graduate levels, was a lead investigator on several geotechnical engineering and inter-disciplinary research projects, and worked closely with the local industry as a specialist geotechnical engineering consultant.

Jit is a licensed professional engineer in the province of Saskatchewan. He also holds a Permission to Consult in Geotechnical Engineering in the province of Saskatchewan.

Jit’s research interests include critical state soil mechanics, waste mechanics, geosynthetics, ground improvement techniques, soil-structure interaction, unsaturated soil mechanics, centrifuge modelling, and numerical modelling. His work is funded by NSERC, industry, academia, and municipal, provincial and federal government agencies.

Jit is an Associate Editor of the Canadian Geotechnical Journal – one of the top three geotechnical engineering journals in the world.

Jit is well known for his passion for engineering education and has won several awards for teaching excellence. He is particularly interested in the use of web-based technologies to develop and deliver out-of-classroom learning tools so that classroom time can be devoted on engaging the students in group-based problem solving and discussions. His vision for revolutionizing the in-classroom experience of students exemplifies the Lassondian approach to learning.



Professor Jinjun Shan

Chair, Department of Earth & Space Science & Engineering

Professor Jinjun Shan is Chair of the Department of Earth and Space Science and Engineering (ESSE) at Lassonde, as well as a Professor.

Dr. Jinjun Shan joined the Department of Earth and Space Science and Engineering at York University as an Assistant Professor in July 2006, and was promoted to Associate Professor in July 2011. Prior to his appointment in York, he was a Post-Doctoral Fell

ow at University of Toronto Institute for Aerospace Studies (UTIAS) from Nov. 2003 and a Research Assistant at Department of Manufacturing Engineering and Engineering Management (MEEM), City University of Hong Kong, from Sept. 2002 to Sept. 2003. He received his B.Eng., M.Eng., Ph.D. degrees all from Harbin Institute of Technology, China, in 1997, 1999 and 2002, respectively. Dr. Shan was awarded the Alexander von Humboldt (AvH) Post-doctoral Fellowship in 2006, Humboldt Research Fellowship for Experienced Researchers in 2012 and is a Senior Member of IEEE and AIAA. He is a Professional Engineer in Ontario since 2007.

His current research interests are dynamics, control and navigation, space system engineering. He is the founding director of Spacecraft Dynamics Control and Navigation Laboratory (SDCNLab) at York University.


Professor Peter Cribb

Chair, Department of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science

Professor Peter Cribb is Chair of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS).

Prof. Cribb provides leadership and direction for numerous academic- and faculty-related matters including the coordination of programs, resources, opportunities, professional development and mentorship.

He plays an important role in shaping the policy framework that supports the complement planning work of the School’s senior executive. He also also guides the Department’s interdisciplinary research enterprise, and promotes industrial collaborations and academic partnerships.

Professor Cribb obtained his Ph.D. in Chemistry from the University of Sydney in 1986. Coming from a formal background in the area of theoretical chemistry (chemical kinetics and quantum dynamics), he has research interests in simulation, modeling and numerical methods. He has experience in such areas as matrix orthogonalization techniques, numerical integration of stiff systems of differential equations, and sparse matrix techniques in numerical integration.



Professor George Zhu

Chair, Department of Mechanical Engineering


Dr. George Zhu is the Chair of the Department of Mechanical Engineering.

He is a Professor and Kaneff Research Chair in Advanced Robotics and Mechatronics in the Department of Mechanical Engineering of the Lassonde School of Engineering at York University.

Zheng Hong (George) Zhu  received his B.Eng., M.Eng. and Ph.D. degrees in mechanics from Shanghai Jiao Tong University of Shanghai, China. He also received his M.A.Sc. in robot control from University of Waterloo and Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from University of Toronto.

From 1993 to 1995, he was a research associate with the Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering at University of Toronto. Then, he worked as a senior engineer at Indal Technologies - Curtiss-Wright Defense Solutions in Mississauga, Ontario from 1995-2006.

He joined York's Space Engineering program as a faculty member in 2006.

He is currently a professor and Tier 1 York Research Chair in Space Technology at the Department of Mechanical Engineering. He is the author of more than 240 articles. His research interests include dynamics and control of tethered space system and on-orbit service robot. Prof. Zhu is the fellow of Engineering Institute of Canada, Associate fellow of AIAA, Fellow of CSME and ASME, senior member of IEEE, and licensed Professional Engineer in Ontario.