Close mobile menu

BEST Entrance Award Recipients – Fall 2023

We’re pleased to announce the recipients of the Fall 2022 BEST Entrance Award. This award recognizes students for their entrepreneurial initiatives, including leadership pursuits and/or involvement in enterprising activities at their high school, and is awarded to incoming students at the Lassonde School of Engineering at York University.

Students had an opportunity to connect with Professor Andrew Maxwell, BEST Program Director, and Maedeh Sedaghat, BEST Program Manager on November 28th at an award ceremony. The recipients expressed excitement about utilizing the program’s resources to further develop their entrepreneurial skills and knowledge.

The Fall 2023 BEST Entrance Award recipients are:

NameProgram of study
Surena ValiComputer Science
Aarush VermaComputer Science
Akshay Sriharsha TadiComputer Science
Mitchell ClappertonEngineering
Parmeet Singh ChanneComputer Science
Isaac RovitoMechanical Engineering
Amanullah AsimComputer Engineering
Akshat Deepak JoshiComputer Science
Kush MorjariaComputer Science
Olga ShchebelskyComputer Science
Idaraobong Udo Earth and Atmospheric Science
Noor AlazzawiSpace Engineering

“Winning this award has given me a head start to successfully pursue my entrepreneurial goals, while providing a significant boost to my projects, expanding their reach and impact,” says Parmeet Singh, a first-year Computer Science student. “It also provides me motivation and inspire me to set higher goals and strive for continuous improvement.”

“Winning this award brings me a step closer to actualizing my dream,” says Idaraobong Udo a first year Earth and Atmospheric Science student. “Thanks to this award, I will be able to carry out the necessary arrangements to officially get started on my project idea.”

“Winning this award further motivates me and aligns with my commitment to sustainability,” says Aarush Verma a first-year Computer Science student. “Ultimately this award is helping me progress in my personal and entrepreneurial development journey,” 

Congratulations to all the award recipients for these outstanding achievements!