Killam Prize

The Canada Council for the Arts recently launched the 2021 Killam Prize competition.

Value: $100,000


Internal deadline: April 13, 2020

Agency deadline: June 15, 2020


The Killam Prizes honour active, distinguished Canadian scholars who have been engaged in research in universities, hospitals, research or scientific institutes, or other similar institutions. Valued at $100,000 each,  they are awarded annually on a competitive basis to distinguished Canadian scholars doing research in humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, health sciences and engineering. Normally one prize is awarded each year in each of the five disciplines. Prizes are awarded directly to the winners.


·         Nominees must be Canadian citizens

·         Prizes are intended for active (non-retired) Canadian scholars – they are not intended as an “end of service” award

·         Nominees must be nominated by an expert in the field

Nomination Process:

Nominees must be nominated by an expert in their field. Support from the Strategic and Institutional Research Initiatives (SIRI) team is available for York nominations, which includes a review from the Major Awards Advisory Committee, administrative support and advice, and editorial support.

Nominees wishing to access this support must notify Abby Vogus, SIRI Specialist ( of their interest. Internal deadlines apply.

For more information, visit